Gun and dogs in photo of staff of Gwrych Castle, Abergele, long ago

Here’s a photo of the staff of Gwrych Castle Gate, Abergele, in the building’s very early days from the Dennis Parr Collection. Date unknown.

It’s great that the gamekeeper holds both a gun and a gundog or two. It’s quite a warm pose for the time, with people putting their arms around each other’s shoulders. The top hat on the back row¬† is a standout too.

Richard Pearce Auctioneers, Valuers, Estate Agents, Abergele 1958

Here’s a gem from the Dennis Parr Collection of Richard Pearce Auctioneers, Valuers, Estate Agents, Market Street, Abergele. It was taken in 1958. Look closely at the reflection in the door glass of the three women across the road, in front of the Car Park. There’s a poster in the window for the 1958 Royal Welsh Show which took place in Bangor. The Eglwysbach Show is also advertised there.

Abergele Fire Station, Pentre Mawr Park 1948

Here’s a photo from the Dennis Parr Collection of the old Abergele Fire Station, Pentre Mawr Park 1948.

Abergele Fire Station, Pentre Mawr Park 1948
Abergele Fire Station, Pentre Mawr Park 1948 from the Dennis Parr Collection

See also this old fire engine, now restored and owned by Colin Knowlson. It’s possible that the engine owned by Colin was called out of the fire station that used to be next to the Bee Filling Station, Slaters.